Cyprus Life – in pictures vs Fylde Coast Musings

Our new life in Cyprus began in early March 2004. Originally from a small mill town in Heywood, Lancashire (United Kingdom) we moved overseas spending a glorious 12 years in Limassol. Feel free to read my posts and view my many #photosofCyprus. However in 2016 we had to return permanently to UK due to family ill health. We're now living on the Fylde coast where the river Wyre meets the Irish sea in the north west of England. More places for us to discover as this part of the UK is not so familiar to us either.

Life before the Cyprus forum as we knew it.

Leave a comment


In days of old when I was a complete novice to the internet, we finally made up our minds and put our 30 month plan into action for moving to live in Cyprus on a permanent basis. This was in the days before such things as forums on Cyprus were readily available so I built myself a website putting together lots of information for the uninitiated and the “first time” visitor to Cyprus

It was called “Cyprus4Holidays” and was based on my experiences of holidaying in Cyprus since 1985 so the site would have been up and running sometime before we got married in November 1999. After we eventually moved to Limassol in March 2004 and after about 12 months of finding the internet access wasn’t so easy to deal with on a dial up connection, I decided to let my domain name cyprus4holidays.com go and stopped updating the site.

I recall the hosting service I used at the time changed a little and went over to Bravenet services.

Curiosity got the better of me today so I typed in Google search and came up with my old page html links.

This page was entitled Village Life and another one with my Photo Album.

Above - some of our friends & residents of Arsos Village making "siousioukko"

I can’t believe how amateurish it all looks now, yet people did pay to advertise with us at the time and we used to do well with affiliate payments from the car hire page. It was such an achievement as I had no knowledge of html (yes, you can tell) and I think I built it using Microsoft Frontpage?

Those were the days, eh? I see now though, there are adverts and pop-ups all over the place which weren’t in place when I had the site and the banner/logo has disappeared. Hey, but I believe I still have some of my printed business cards floating about somewhere! When I find ’em – I’ll scan one in and post it on here….

I was checking up on some of my Guestbook page comments and started to wonder whatever happened to Steven and Tina who were the last to comment on my website?

Thomas (he's now 23 and in the Australian Navy) and me at Kolossi Castle near Akrotiri.

Tombs of the Kings, Paphos

Author: Fylde Coast Musings aka CyprusPictures

I'm "Shell" or Michele - formerly a UK Expat living in Cyprus since March 2004. Sadly, we had to return to UK in April 2016 due to family illness. We now live "over Wyre" where the "River meets the Sea" at Knott End on Sea, Fylde coast, Lancashire. If you like my photos, you can see more of them on Flickr (Thulborn-Chapman Photography): http://www.flickr.com/photos/cypruspictures/albums/ and don't forget to check me out on Twitter too - you can find me: @CyprusPictures aka Fylde Coast Musings Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

