Cyprus Life – in pictures vs Fylde Coast Musings

Our new life in Cyprus began in early March 2004. Originally from a small mill town in Heywood, Lancashire (United Kingdom) we moved overseas spending a glorious 12 years in Limassol. Feel free to read my posts and view my many #photosofCyprus. However in 2016 we had to return permanently to UK due to family ill health. We're now living on the Fylde coast where the river Wyre meets the Irish sea in the north west of England. More places for us to discover as this part of the UK is not so familiar to us either.

My gastroscopy results

Leave a comment


Well finally, it all came together after a few hiccups at Limassol General Hospital…

Yesterday, I had “the gastroscopy”. It was absolutely horrible as unfortunately, I’m not very good at relaxing. If someone says “relax” I tend to do completely the opposite and tense every muscle in my body.

  • The squirting of the stuff to numb the back of my throat – wasn’t so bad.
  • Having to bite on the little funnel thing so I didn’t bite the camera tube instead – was okay.
  • Having the tube inserted in the first instance – made me gag and retch.
  • Every time the tube was moved around it – made me gag and retch.
  • The nurse who was behind me holding my head kept saying “breathe” – I was holding my breath and sweating hard!
  • Then Dr Tsikkis gets all excited and says “do you want to see your ulcer?”
  • A quick peep was all I managed but then I saw him feeding another wire down the tube so decided it was easier to just close my eyes and pray it would be over quickly.

After what seemed like forever, the tube came out….

My husband was in the waiting area and apparently from going into the theatre, having the procedure performed and my appearing back at the exit door – lasted only 11 minutes!

Dr Tsikkis told us to go and have a drink and come back in about half an hour as needed to do an examination. We returned a little before the 11.30 time he had said and there he was waiting for us.

So, the good news is I do have an ulcer rather than something unmentionable….

I also have an infection known as Helicobater Pylori which apparently was discovered around 1982 by Barry Marshall and Robin Warren to be a major cause of stomach ulcers. Not as we have all believed for years, down to stress, spicy food or alcohol….

Helicobacter pylori bacteria - Nice!

So now I’m up to 8 tablets a day of which 6 are antibiotics to clear up the infection. I’m on them for 10 days then I have to wait 10 more days before going back to the hospital for a further blood test. After that, I have to wait a month for the results to come back from Nicosia and return again to see Dr Tsikkis.

He reckons it will disappear after the infection has gone.

I asked him if that was a “Promise” 😀

All told, we’ve spent around 9 hours at Limassol General in registering and waiting to see the first gastrologist who had to come over from Paphos. That appointment took 6 hours on 28th August followed by a further 3 hours on Friday 4th October.

We spent a good 40 minutes on Friday waiting to collect my prescription from the Pharmacy at the hospital. My, it’s busy there! Four windows open and queues pretty much on a constant until closing time. Our ticket number was 252 and when we collected it from the machine. The number on the queue monitor was only at 185.

It’s been a long, hard slog as this all started back in May this year. After we found out it would cost €450 to have the gastroscopy done privately, I had to be referred through the clinic doctors to the hospital and have been on constant proton pump inhibitor medication since then.

Let’s hope we’ve turned the corner and I can say “bye bye” to my GERD 🙂

Author: Fylde Coast Musings aka CyprusPictures

I'm "Shell" or Michele - formerly a UK Expat living in Cyprus since March 2004. Sadly, we had to return to UK in April 2016 due to family illness. We now live "over Wyre" where the "River meets the Sea" at Knott End on Sea, Fylde coast, Lancashire. If you like my photos, you can see more of them on Flickr (Thulborn-Chapman Photography): http://www.flickr.com/photos/cypruspictures/albums/ and don't forget to check me out on Twitter too - you can find me: @CyprusPictures aka Fylde Coast Musings Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

