Cyprus Life – in pictures vs Fylde Coast Musings

Our new life in Cyprus began in early March 2004. Originally from a small mill town in Heywood, Lancashire (United Kingdom) we moved overseas spending a glorious 12 years in Limassol. Feel free to read my posts and view my many #photosofCyprus. However in 2016 we had to return permanently to UK due to family ill health. We're now living on the Fylde coast where the river Wyre meets the Irish sea in the north west of England. More places for us to discover as this part of the UK is not so familiar to us either.

Eurovision Song Contest 2012 – Cyprus Entry: Ivi Adamou

Leave a comment


Cyprus was the first country to select its Eurovision hopeful for Baku.

17-years-old singer Ivi Adamou has been internally selected by the Cypriot national broadcaster CyBC to represent the Isle of Aphrodite at the Eurovision Song Contest 2012 to be held in Azerbaijan.

Andreas Anastasiou, the composer of last year’s Cypriot entry, spoke to esctoday.com about his participation in this year’s song selection.  

1. What do you think about CyBC’s decision to select Ivi Adamou to represent Cyprus at the Eurovision Song Contest 2012? Do you think that Ivi was a good choice?

“After my participation in the 2011 Eurovision Song Contest as composer of the Cyprus entry, “San Angelos S’agapisa”. I think that CyBC made the right choice this year because Eurovision stage needs a strong combination of voice, presentation and of a good song! Ivi Adamou, is a Cypriot young performer and has the ‘package’ in my opinion can represent us and with a good song I think that she can do something remarkable for Cyprus in Baku next year.”

2. Various websites and blogs have reported that you are going to be involved in the selection of the Cypriot song for Baku? Is that true?

“Yes I can confirm this! CyBC invited me, as well as others composers from Cyprus and abroad to send my proposal to the committee that is going to select the songs that Ivi Adamou is going to perform in the Cypriot National Final. The song at the moment is in production level but the only thing I can say is that it is a strong fresh dance song and has nothing to do with my last year’s attempt”.

3. What’s your opinion about the latest rumors surrounding the Eurovision Song Contest?

“On the one hand I don’t thing that is bad because this works always as benefit for publicity but on the other hand I think that no one has the right to write anything they want and criticize the work of anyone before even hearing something. I can only say wait to hear the song and after I am going to be open to hear all the positive and negative regarding my name and my music.”

4. Would you agree to participate at the Eurovision Song Contest as a composer in the future?

“Of course I will! Right after my participation last year I received some proposal for this year’s Eurovision Song Contest, at the moment I am working for my proposal for Ivi Adamou because I want to be focused on one thing at time. But anyway I am already collaborating with other composers and producers from Sweden, Germany, Austria, Greece and Cyprus. The 2011 Eurovision Song Contest was a really great experience and I had the time of my life in Dusseldorf and for that I want to thank CyBC, the Eurovision fans and the Cypriot fans.”

Cyprus will compete in one of the semi finals of the Eurovision Song Contest 2012. (Text supplied  by: http://www.esctoday.com with some fixing of the translated version)

Ivi Adamou – video clip.

I hope she sings better than that on the big night!

Author: Fylde Coast Musings aka CyprusPictures

I'm "Shell" or Michele - formerly a UK Expat living in Cyprus since March 2004. Sadly, we had to return to UK in April 2016 due to family illness. We now live "over Wyre" where the "River meets the Sea" at Knott End on Sea, Fylde coast, Lancashire. If you like my photos, you can see more of them on Flickr (Thulborn-Chapman Photography): http://www.flickr.com/photos/cypruspictures/albums/ and don't forget to check me out on Twitter too - you can find me: @CyprusPictures aka Fylde Coast Musings Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

