Cyprus Life – in pictures vs Fylde Coast Musings

Our new life in Cyprus began in early March 2004. Originally from a small mill town in Heywood, Lancashire (United Kingdom) we moved overseas spending a glorious 12 years in Limassol. Feel free to read my posts and view my many #photosofCyprus. However in 2016 we had to return permanently to UK due to family ill health. We're now living on the Fylde coast where the river Wyre meets the Irish sea in the north west of England. More places for us to discover as this part of the UK is not so familiar to us either.

The Gastroscopy – yuk!

Leave a comment


So, last Tuesday we spent almost 6 hours at Limassol General Hospital waiting to see the gastrologist…..

We arrived at around 08.20hrs and duly registered our presence after taking our yellow ticket to get our place in the queue. That was all quite plain and simple and within just a few minutes I was registered for my appointment.

We went round to the area as pointed out to us and asked where we should wait. It looked like a pretty big queue and ours was number 18 according to my strip of sticky labels.

I already had an appointment for an ultrasound so on looking at the length of the queue for the gastrologist, off we went to see how quickly we would be seen. We booked in and were pointed to door number 5. After popping my slip in the box on the outside of the door we just sat and waited as it was impossible to tell who was waiting for which door. No such thing as orderly queues here you know!

My name was called almost straightaway and in we went. I’ve never had an ultrasound before so it was all new stuff! On went the cold goo and the consultant kept telling me to take a deep breath and then hold it. Not so simple when everywhere he was pressing was causing discomfort 😦

Then with results in hand, back we went to the waiting game at the gastrologist. All this by 09.30am. And…. we waited….. On it went…. the waiting.

12.35pm off went the gastrologist for a break! Pretty much everyone joined her. That way we could keep an eye on when she returned! 😉

The waiting game continued after a a toasted lountza and halloumi sandwich shortly after 1pm. By now we had reached up to number 8 in the queue. Only 10 more to see before us!

But wait…. suddenly there appeared someone who hadn’t been waiting and was called in first before number 8. Shock, horror – I’ve never seen a group of people move so fast! Everyone wanted to know just what the hell was going on. 😀

Eventually, it was our turn (around 2.15pm) when I found out that but for a small cyst on my liver (something I shouldn’t worry about apparently), everything else that could be seen on the ultrasound was normal….

My liver, spleen, pancreas and gall bladder were all okay. So, everything seems to be pointing to my having an ulcer somewhere within my intestines.

I’m now booked in for a Gastroscopy on 4th October. Just great it’s my worst nightmare!

I’m really not looking forward to having to swallow a length of tubing the thickness of a little finger. Just whose little finger do they measure it by anyway?

Before that I’ve got to go and get some full blood tests done but that’s not so bad. I can live with someone sticking needles in me but not the gagging reaction which I just know will happen when they stick the awful tube down my throat!

For the uninitiated there’s more information on the gastroscopy procedure here: Gastroscopy process

Author: Fylde Coast Musings aka CyprusPictures

I'm "Shell" or Michele - formerly a UK Expat living in Cyprus since March 2004. Sadly, we had to return to UK in April 2016 due to family illness. We now live "over Wyre" where the "River meets the Sea" at Knott End on Sea, Fylde coast, Lancashire. If you like my photos, you can see more of them on Flickr (Thulborn-Chapman Photography): http://www.flickr.com/photos/cypruspictures/albums/ and don't forget to check me out on Twitter too - you can find me: @CyprusPictures aka Fylde Coast Musings Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

