Cyprus Life – in pictures vs Fylde Coast Musings

Our new life in Cyprus began in early March 2004. Originally from a small mill town in Heywood, Lancashire (United Kingdom) we moved overseas spending a glorious 12 years in Limassol. Feel free to read my posts and view my many #photosofCyprus. However in 2016 we had to return permanently to UK due to family ill health. We're now living on the Fylde coast where the river Wyre meets the Irish sea in the north west of England. More places for us to discover as this part of the UK is not so familiar to us either.

The Kindle has landed!

6 Comments


Yep, I made the decision and went for the Kindle….

I ordered from Amazon.com late Saturday afternoon (23 April) and it arrived at my house yesterday afternoon (Thursday 28 April).

Brilliant service! Phoenix to Limassol via Cincinnati, Liepzig, Greece and then into Larnaca since Monday 25 April is very good going….

So far, I’m impressed with this little piece of kit although I didn’t get too much time to fiddle with it last night after I got home from work.

I’ve downloaded some free software called Calibre which converts my pre-downloaded books  (some 600+ so far) into a compatible format for my Kindle and I transferred my first one last night – 61 Hours by Lee Child.

I’ve tested changing the text size and even had it reading my new book to me with the Text to Speech option but not much else at this stage. I will test it some more over the weekend!

Author: Fylde Coast Musings aka CyprusPictures

I'm "Shell" or Michele - formerly a UK Expat living in Cyprus since March 2004. Sadly, we had to return to UK in April 2016 due to family illness. We now live "over Wyre" where the "River meets the Sea" at Knott End on Sea, Fylde coast, Lancashire. If you like my photos, you can see more of them on Flickr (Thulborn-Chapman Photography): http://www.flickr.com/photos/cypruspictures/albums/ and don't forget to check me out on Twitter too - you can find me: @CyprusPictures aka Fylde Coast Musings Enjoy!

6 thoughts on “The Kindle has landed!

  1. Which one did you get – the Wifi only or the one with 3G too?

    • I went for the Wifi only model as 3G coverage can be a bit hit and miss in Cyprus. But, I mainly download to my pc anyway so it’s the better option for me. I do know someone who has the 3G and he says it works fine for him here…

  2. That’s nice!
    From where did you buy it and it was shipped to Cyprus?
    As i was looking for possible purchase opportunities in Cyprus for this…

    I am thinking buying the 3G (free life connection) but i dont know if it is actually working in Cyprus yet…

    Thanks!!

    • Hi Haris

      I bought it online from Amazon.com and it was shipped from USA direct to my home address in Limassol.

      I did see them in Public store in MyMall, Limassol but they were very expensive in comparison to Amazon. The whole cost to buy including shipping by DHL and tax was just over 126 EUR for the wifi version. The cost on Amazon was $139 for the wifi and $189 for 3G.

      • How? What? When? 🙂

        I tried to order it from US, but at checkout it says that the item cannot be shipped to my destination – Cyprus…
        Ahh…. 🙂

      • Hi Haris

        Yes, I had a small problem too in the beginning. But the website indicated I had to first choose and confirm my country where the item was to be used.

        Once I chose Cyprus, it advised they could ship here and the rest of the order went through with no problem…. I’ve an idea it’s an International site rather than the USA part of Amazon if that helps.

        I would suggest you clear your cache from your browser and then go back and try again or use a different web browser. I usually use firefox over internet explorer as I find it is more versatile and faster.

        Good luck!

Leave a Reply

